Trip report: AISB 2014- New Frontiers in HRI

Image

So last week I attended the Third New Frontiers in HRI Symposium at AISB2014 which was organised by Maha Salem and Kerstin Dautenhahn. My colleague Lara Lammer presented the results from our first lab user studies on Mutual Care in the Hobbit project and I gave a talk on a position paper about artificial empathy in HRI, I co-authored with Bert Baumgartner, a computational philosopher at University of Idaho.

I really enjoyed the symposium as it is a very open format that gives plenty of time for discussion and I heard very interesting approaches. Two of my favourite contributions were:

  • Pervasive Memory: The Future of Long-Term Social HRI Lies in the Past (Paul Baxter and Tony Belpaeme)
  • A Template Based User-Teaching System for an Assistive Robot (Joe Saunders, Dag Sverre Syrdal and Kerstin Dautenhahn)

The proceedings of the event can be found here http://doc.gold.ac.uk/aisb50/#s19

Looking forward to next year’s symposium!

