HRI2016 Conference

HRI-2016-banner-logo21

This year, I could not attend HRI in New Zealand, however, I heard it was a great conference. At this point I want to say thank you to several people who really helped me out at the conference due to my travel restrictions:

Selma Sabanovic and Nicole Mirnig hosted our workshop on The challenge (not) to go wild! Challenges and best practices to study HRI in natural interaction settings and me and Astrid Rosenthal von der Pütten attended remotely via a Kubi robot (thanks to Jenay Beer for making that possible). We had 3 great keynotes and several interesting position papers presented in a poster session. More information can be found here: https://www.uni-due.de/sozialpsychologie/hriws2016_robotsinthewild.php

Next, my colleague Markus Bajones was so kind to take over the presentation of an altHRI contribution I co-authored with two other colleagues at Vienna University of Technology entitled: The Ethical Risk of Attachment: How to Identify, Investigate and Predict Potential Ethical Risks in the Development of Social Companion Robots. It derived from our lessons learned from the Hobbit project and the idea about Mutual-Care meaning that not only the robot takes care of the older adult, but also the other way around.We also had a Late breaking Report on the Hobbit field trials, entitled: Results of a Real World Trial with a Mobile Social Service Robot for Older Adults

Finally, as registration co-chair of HRI2016 I was happy to hear from Nicole that everything ran smoothly! So again a big thank you to all my colleagues who took over my duties this year and looking forward to seeing you all in Vienna next year!

P1020587

