Trip Report STS Conference Graz 2016

Last week I attended the 15th Annual STS Conference Graz 2016 on Critical Issues in Science, Technology and Society Studies. turm It was a great experience taking part in a more sociological event again. A very different type of discussion and contents compared to the robotics and HCI events I usually attend. I gave an invited talk on my user-centered HRI research at the Robotics and Society Panel organized by Andreas Bischof and Arne Maibaum. We had great discussions about how to link STS, sociology and robotics and I enjoyed talking to Diego Compagna and Martin Meister again. One of my favourite talks was a presentation on “The rise of disaster robotics in South Korea”. It was a wonderful meta reflection on the co-production of science, technology, and the impact of mass media. Besides that I enjoyed the keynote of Prof. Ingo Schulz-Schaeffer who talked about scenario usage and development in ubiquitous computing. And I was positively surprised that there is a Department of Social Sciences at the Technical University of Berlin…maybe I should establish something like that at Vienna University of Technology as well…;)

